•  
Your present location:Home >> R&D

Process

The primary purpose of developing new drugs is for disease prevention and/or treatment. However, behind each tiny newly constructed pill, there is huge amount of time and money investment: the development process for one single safe and effective drug, on average, takes 20 years and billions of dollars. This undoubtedly increases the barrier and requires the cooperation and efforts from government, academic institutes, pharmaceutical companies, and investors in all stages of drug development, in order to bring new drugs to the society.

There are several stages for drug development. Starting with basic scientific research, research institutes reveal the mechanisms and theories behind diseases, which helps identify potential drug “target” (normally refer to the gene or protein that has caused disease or transmission).

Secondly, scientists study how to interfere with these targets to control or eliminate disease. By testing thousands of compounds, only a few compounds that can inhibit or activate the targets can be selected, known as “active compounds”. Following that, repeated tests are conducted to confirm the effects of those active compounds, from which potential candidates are obtained through optimization process. To avoid side effects coming from the inactive interaction between screened compounds and target, researchers have to improve the absorption, distribution, metabolism, excretion, and toxicity (ADMET) properties of the compounds, and to select those safe and effective ones for further research and studies.

 

If preclinical results are promising , researchers will apply to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for clinical trial permission. A 3-phase (Phase I, II, III) clinical trial will be conducted after receiving FDA approval, to determine whether the drug will be approved for sale. Pharmaceutical companies play a significant role at this stage due to the high investment demand by clinical trials. Phase I is conducted among 20 to 80 healthy people, to assess the safety, safe dose, and side effects of the drug. During Phase II, 100 to 300 related patients will be recruited for preliminary evaluation of the therapeutic effect on target indications and for further safety assessment. Phase III will be conducted on 1000 to 3000 patients to further verify the therapeutic effects and safety of the drug on target indications, and to evaluate the balance between benefits and risks. The experiment is usually double blinded, with commonly used drugs or placebo as control. Phase III is the most critical step, because the more samples they have, the more statistically significant the results will be, and the more accurate the drug effect will be.

If Phase III clinical trial is successfully completed, pharmaceutical companies can apply to FDA for the drug to be sold in the market. All preclinical and clinical study data and series of materials that can approve the safety, efficacy, and quality of the drug should be submitted. This could make the application package up to hundreds of thousands of paper long. With the approval from FDA, the drug can be produced and sold for disease prevention or treatment.

However, the drug development process does not end yet, for FDA will continue to monitor the safety and effectiveness of the drug. Phase IV clinical trial will normally take place, to analyze the efficacy, adverse effects, long-term side effects, and drug use taboo in large population. If severe adverse effects that did not appear previously are observed during this stage, the drug could be at the risk of being removed from the market.

All of the above steps have indicated that the process of new drug development is significantly long and complicated. Undoubtedly, it has an extremely high demand for technology, talent, capital and time investment, in which a tiny mistake might result in incalculable consequences.

About R&D Pipeline News Partners Careers Contact

Rm 301, Building A1, Kexing Science Park, No. 15 Keyuan Rd., Nanshan District, Shenzhen, China
Tell:+86-0755-86934300

Copyright Shenzhen TargetRx, Inc.Powered by:www.300.cnshenzhen 粤ICP备17142950号

Follow us

•  
您现在的位置:首页 >> 新药研发

药物研发流程

       研发药物的目的无外乎预防或治疗疾病,然而看似不起眼的小药丸背后,是时间与金钱的高额投入:开发一个安全有效的新药平均需要20年的时间,花费金额动辄高达数十亿美金。这样高的要求,往往需要政府、大学研究院、制药公司、投资人等团队在药物开发的各个阶段中发挥作用,共同努力,才能开发出造福于人类的新药。

       药物开发的过程是阶段式的。这个过程始于基础科学研究,即由世界各地的科研院所和实验室揭示疾病发生的机制和研究理论,从而帮助确定潜在的药物“靶点”(通常所指的,是引起机体疾病发生或传播过的重要基因或蛋白质)。

       随后,科学家们研究如何干扰这些靶点以达到控制或消除疾病的目的。通过测试成千上万个化合物,一小部分对靶点产生效应(能够抑制或激活靶点)的化合物被筛选出来,即“活性化合物”。然后,经过多次重复检测,这些活性化合物的效果得到确认,并通过进一步优化得到潜在的候选药物。为了避免筛选出的化合物不与目标靶点相互作用(脱靶)而产生副作用,研究人员在选择化合物之前,需要对化合物进行优化,改善化合物的吸收、分布、代谢、排泄和毒性(ADMET),挑选安全、有效的化合物做进一步研究。

 

 

       化合物取得了良好的“临床前研究”结果后,研究人员需要向食品药品监督管理局申请进行人体试验(临床试验)。获得食品药品监督管理局批准后,研究人员将开始进行三个阶段的临床试验(临床I、II、III期),以确定药物是否能够获批上市。由于临床试验需要大量的资金投入,制药企业在这一阶段发挥着重大的作用。I期临床试验在20至80名健康人中进行,用以评估药物的安全性、确定药物安全剂量以及副作用。II期临床试验大约在100至300名相关患者中进行,初步评价药物对目标适应症患者的治疗作用,并进一步评估其安全性。III期临床试验对1000到3000名患者进行试验,进一步验证药物对目标适应症患者的治疗作用和安全性,评价利益与风险关系。在试验过程中,一般会使用常用药物或安慰剂作为对照的双盲试验。III期临床试验是最为关键的一步,因而其样本越多,试验结果就越有统计意义、药物效果就越确切。

       如果药物成功完成了III期临床试验,制药公司就可以向食品药品监督管理局申请药物上市销售。申请资料应包含所有临床前研究和临床试验数据,以及一系列佐以证明药物的安全性、有效性和质量的信息,一份审批资料可多达数十万张。如果通过了食品药物监督管理局的批准,则该药物可以生产和销售,供医生和患者选择,用以预防或治疗疾病。

       然而,药物研发的过程在上市后并没有结束,食品药品监督管理局会继续监测药物的安全性和有效性。通常会进行临床IV期研究,主要用来监测药物在大范围人群应用后的疗效和不良反应、药物的长期副作用、以及药物使用禁忌等。如果之前研究中没有发现的严重不良反应在这一阶段被发现,药物将有可能面临下架的风险。

       所以,药物研发的过程漫长而复杂,环环相扣。其对于技术、人才、资金、时间的要求都是极高的,上述任何一个环节的差错都将导致不可估量的后果。

关于塔吉瑞 新药研发 产品管线 新闻资讯 合作伙伴 职位招聘 联系我们

深圳市南山区科苑路15号科兴科学园 A 栋 1 单元301
联系电话:+86-0755-86934300

版权所有 深圳市塔吉瑞生物医药有限公司 网站建设:中企动力深圳二分 粤ICP备17142950号

欢迎添加公众号关注我们